Former departments

Experimental Department I
1992 - 2015

Director: Prof. Jürgen Kirschner

This department did basic research on magnetic properties of materials at reduced dimensionality. This includes magnetic surfaces, thin films, wires, and dots with linear scales of 1 to 1,000 atoms. They were particularly interested in the correlation between structural properties and growth modes of these structures on the one hand, and their magnetic and electronic properties on the other hand.
Experimental Department II
1992 - 2009

Director: Prof. Ulrich Gösele

Micro- and nanostructuring are powerful tools to fabricate materials with a large variety of functionalities. The primary scientific goal of the department was to improve the fundamental understanding of such processes and the resulting materials. The research capabilities include methods to fabricate nanowires and nanotubes, micro- and macroporous silicon and nanoporous alumina as well as functional oxides.
Theory Department

Theory Department

1998 - 2007

Director: Prof. Patrick Bruno

The Theory Department carried out theoretical research on the electronic, magnetic, optical and electrical properties of micro- and nanostructured solid state systems. More specifically, the research was focussed on (i) exchange interactions in magnetic ultrathin films and nanostructures, (ii) magneto-electronics, i.e., spin-dependent electronic transport phenomena, and (iii) electron cor-relation spectroscopies of solid surfaces.

Go to Editor View