Max Planck Fellow Groups

The new Max Planck Fellows Programme strengthens the cooperation between university researchers and researchers engaged by the Max Planck Society. The appointment of university professors as Max Planck Fellows is limited to five years and, at the same time, is connected with the supervision of a small working group at a Max Planck institute. Since 2009, it is possible to grant a request by the respective institute to extend the period of support for one single time.

Max Planck Fellow Group Georg Woltersdorf
Professor Georg Woltersdorf, head of the Optics Group at the Institute of Physics at Martin Luther University Halle-Wittenberg (MLU) has been appointed as a Max Planck Fellow for five years by the Max Planck Society in Munich. As a Max Planck Fellow, he will head a research group at the Max Planck Institute (MPI) for Microstructure Physics in Halle starting in January. They will use optical methods to investigate dynamic phenomena in novel (spin)electronic materials. The research will receive 500,000 euros in funding and will serve as a basis for applications in future storage devices. more

Former Max Planck Fellow Groups

Max Planck Fellow Group Wolf Widdra
The Max Planck Fellow group under the guidance of Prof. Dr. Wolf Widdra started in July 2010 in the field of experimental surface science. The group focuses on the atomic and electronic structure of oxide surfaces and thin films. Methodologically, the Fellow group focuses on laser-based photoemission and developed high-repetition-rate pulsed laser sources with tunable photon energies between 1.5 and 40 eV. more
Max Planck Fellow Group Ingrid Mertig
The activities of the Max Planck Fellow Group started in 2007 and ended in 2019.
We do basic research in the field of solid state theory. We are interested in a material-specific and parameter-free description of nanostructured systems. Our research is based on density functional theory formulated in terms of Green functions. more
Go to Editor View