International Research Internships for our IMPRS PhD students

We are excited to announce the opening of applications for international research internships for our IMPRS students. This is a unique opportunity for you to expand your academic horizons, collaborate with leading researchers abroad, and gain experiences personally as well as for your PhD.

The program duration is flexible and can range from several weeks to a maximum of 3-6 months. To apply, please draft a proposal for your internship. Your proposal should include:

  • Research group selection: Choose from our list of international collaborators or propose a research group abroad that aligns with your academic interests.
  • Study plan and duration: Outline what you intend to study, the research methods you will employ, and how this aligns with your current work.
  • Justification: Explain why the selected research group is the best fit for your project and how this experience will contribute to your PhD research.
  • Cost estimate: Provide an estimated budget covering travel, accommodation, and other potential costs. We encourage you to include offers from guesthouses and travel agencies for more accurate planning.
  • Supervisor consultation: Discuss your plans with your direct supervisor and incorporate their suggestions into your proposal.

Additional financial support in case of longer internships: While our program offers a foundational support structure, we encourage students to seek additional funding through scholarships and grants, such as ERASMUS+ or DAAD, to cover the costs associated with the internship.

Application deadline: Please submit your internship proposal by April 30, 2024. However, proposals after this deadline will still be considered and can be submitted any time.

For any inquiries, please contact the IMPRS office: Ann-Kristin Flieger .

List of international collaborators:

  • Ron Naaman (Weizmann Institute, Israel)
  • Dirk Grundler (EPFL, Switzerland)
  • Judith Driscoll (University of Cambridge, UK)
  • Amir Capua (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel)
  • Daniel Loss (University of Basel, Switzerland)
  • Niels Tas (University of Twente, Netherlands)
  • Kai Cheng (BAQIS, China)
  • ALBA Synchrotron, Spain
Go to Editor View