Xinliang Feng joins our Institute as new Director

Prof. Dr. Xinliang Feng will join the Max Planck Institute of Microstructure Physics as a new Director on Monday 15. March, 2021. He will lead the Department of Synthetic Materials and Functional Devices at the Institute.


Prof. Feng is a full professor and the head of the Chair of Molecular Functional Materials at Technische Universität Dresden since 2014. He received his Bachelor’s degree in analytic chemistry in 2001 and Master’s degree in organic chemistry in 2004. Then he joined the Max Planck Institute for Polymer Research for PhD thesis, where he obtained his PhD degree in April 2008. In December 2007, he was appointed as a group leader at the Max-Planck Institute for Polymer Research, and in 2012, he became a distinguished group leader. Since 2021 he is a director at the Max-Planck Institute of Microstructure Physics.

His current scientific interests include synthetic methodology for new-type of polymers, organic and polymer synthesis, interfacial chemistry, supramolecular chemistry of π-conjugated system, bottom-up synthesis of carbon nanostructures and graphene nanoribbons, 2D polymers and supramolecular polymers, 2D carbon-rich conjugated polymers for electronics, optoelectronics and spintronics, graphene and 2D materials for energy storage and conversion, new energy devices and technologies. He has published more than 610 research articles which have attracted around 70000 citations with H-index of 127 (Google Scholar).

He has been awarded several prestigious prizes such as IUPAC Prize for Young Chemists (2009), Finalist of 3rd European Young Chemist Award, European Research Council (ERC) Starting Grant Award (2012), Journal of Materials Chemistry Lectureship Award (2013), ChemComm Emerging Investigator Lectureship (2014), Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC, 2014), Highly Cited Researcher (Thomson Reuters, 2014-2020), Small Young Innovator Award (2017), Hamburg Science Award (2017), EU-40 Materials Prize (2018), ERC Consolidator Grant Award (2018). He is a member of the European Academy of Sciences (2019) and member of the Academia Europaea (2019). He is an Advisory Board Member for Advanced Materials, Chemical Science, Journal of Materials Chemistry A, ChemNanoMat, Energy Storage Materials, Small Methods, Chemistry -An Asian Journal, Trends in Chemistry, etc. He is the Head of ESF Young Research Group "Graphene Center Dresden", Working Package Leader of WP Functional Foams & Coatings for European Commission’s pilot project “Graphene Flagship”, and spokesperson for the DFG Collaborative Research Center for the Chemistry of Synthetic 2D Materials.

Other Interesting Articles

Go to Editor View